Writing plays

Did another session at the West Yorkshire Playhouse Playwright 1 course. This week we looked at dialogue.

We learnt how to read the subtext behind what is said and the transitive verbs which drives the dialogue too.

I never realised how much subtext is needed! Yes I have written two plays before which have been performed but I guess these type of things came naturally to me as I wasn’t analysing what I wrote in that way.

I’m glad to be on this 8 weeks course and I really want to improve my full-length play TwentyFortySeven. It will be better than before all because I’ve learnt loads of information from this course.

My point is if you’re really serious about improving your writing try to join local writing groups in your area. You will meet other like minded people and learn what you may not learn from reading a book about writing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

