I come from…

I come from heartache, love and more heartache. Birth to a beautiful child.

I come from quietness, stories ready to be read and celebrated. Fired in your imagination and spoken inside.

I come from small round batteries. Ready to allow me to participate in the hearing world. Ready in case pen and paper are not available.

I come from a small town that I was not birthed in (Thank God!) Not always welcoming and frosty at times.

I come from an unlucky number which I’ve turned lucky. Lucky as I was born on that day, some time ago.

I come from love and affection. Murmurs of those close to me, calling out a name that brings back a memory of a DJ who couldn’t pronounce my name.

(Inspired by Bread and Butter by Jo Roach. Also inspired by Rommi Smith at the Peepal Tree Press Inscribe session today.)
Lianne Herbert

Leave a Reply

