That Weird Deaf Girl Over There

I’m writing a short book with the above title. I’m passionate about it as some of it draws from my own personal experiences as a deaf person growing up. It also tackles issues on racism and mental health. 

I won’t spoil it, of course, but I feel there’s a need for this book as I wished I had something like this that I could relate to. Especially when I felt like I was the only deaf person in the world.

I was the only deaf person in my family and I didn’t have any D/deaf friends growing up. I have only recently obtained my deaf identity in the last five years or so. I’m in my twenties. That’s a LONG time to feel isolated in the world…

I better dash and write some more while I can! Other commitments have to take priority, which is why it will take a while to complete the book. But it’s coming, don’t you worry!

Lianne Herbert

2 thoughts on “That Weird Deaf Girl Over There

  1. Congrats on taking the initiative. It does take time to connect with other D/deaf folks but that’s life. Keep in mind there’s nearly 7 billion people on the planet so there are plenty of us out there. Sometimes you do have to get out there to find them.

    I’m in my 40s and I’m always finding more and more D/deaf folks every year. It was not until I got out there that I really found more folks and social networking helps too. I look forward to your announcement of the book release.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was harder to connect in the 1990s before Internet was common in every household.

      I guess it also depended on where you lived too. But I am glad to have met the ones I have and the ones I am yet to meet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

